Marc Andreessen, Satoshi Nakamoto Take Top Honors at First Annual Blockchain Awards

The first day of the first annual Bitcoin2014 conference in Amsterdam started with the introduction to Blockchain Awards.

Photo: Egor Pavlovich/CoinSpeaker

Photo: Egor Pavlovich/CoinSpeaker

The first day of the first annual Bitcoin2014 conference in Amsterdam started with the introduction to Blockchain Awards. Both Blockchain and the Bitcoin Foundation have gathered together in order to celebrate innovation and excellence in the Bitcoin Community on Friday May 16th.

The conference was highly anticipated, the hosts of the event were Nicolas Cary, the CEO of, and Peter Vessenes from the Bitcoin Foundation who announced the winners in 10 categories.

The categories included Most influential Investor, Most Insightful Journalist, Bitcoin Champion and others.

Matthew Kenahan from The Bitcoin Society was honored to pick up two different awards: the Most Impactful Charity and the Bitcoin Champion.

The full list of categories along with the winners of the award is listed below:

  • Most Impactful Charity: The Bitcoin Society
  • Most Creative Video: I am Satoshi
  • Most Informative Podcast: Let’s Talk Bitcoin
  • Most Influential Investor: Marc Andreessen
  • Best ATM Design: Lamassu BTC
  • Most Insightful Journalist: Ryan Selkis
  • Best Mobile App: Mycelium (Megion) Android Wallet
  • Bitcoin Legal Expert: Marco Santori
  • Visionary Academic Paper: Satoshi Nakamoto
  • Bitcoin Champion: Matthew Kenahan

According to the plans of Bitcoin Society, it is currently planning to spread and share information about bitcoin, as well as education and moreover inscrease the awareness of bitcoin with the help of guerrilla marketing, television media, billboards and of course the bitcoin community.

Furthermore, Bitcoin Society is planning to add more information to its website that will definitely be useful for the new members of this industry. The global campaign is organized in the months to make sure that everyone is familiar with bitcoin.

Mr. Kenahan announced he would donate all the money from the awards to the Women’s Annex Foundation.

The Blockchain Awards are an event organized by and the Bitcoin Foundation. The online voting process lasted approximately  three weeks. During this process people from different parts of the world nominate candidates in all ten categories.

Gavin Andresen, Chief Scientist at the Bitcoin Foundation, accepted the award for best Visionary Academic Paper on Satoshi Nakamoto’s behalf, becoming the funniest the crowd-pleaser of the evening.

Unsurprisingly the next Blockchain Awards is scheduled to take place at Bitcoin 2015.

“We wanted to celebrate accomplishments and visions of both companies and individuals,” Vessenes said at the conference.

Furtthermore, the event was partly sponsored by Gridseed, the company that owns the three generations of cryptocurrency chips.

Share This article

We welcome comments that advance the story directly or with relevant tangential information. We try to block comments that use offensive language, all capital letters or appear to be spam, and we review comments frequently to ensure they meet our standards. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of Coinspeaker Ltd.